Total Bitch

• Former Member
  • 1631 posts
  • Ruler Name:xR1 Fatal Instinct
  • Nation Name:Brotherhood of Steel
  • IRC Nick:xR1_Fatal_Instinct
  • Nation Link

Posted 02 June 2014 - 12:40 PM

So as some of you may or may not know, I am an independent contractor. So basically I get fucked by taxes. I have to pay employer and employee tax. Which then accounts to about a 1/3 of my check. The way to get around this is tax write-offs. I was talking to my dad about this because currently I have about $1400 worth of shit I can write off including certifications, clothes, and equipment for my job. (personal trainer) I made the point to my dad that the IRS allows me to write off 50 cents a mile to and from the office to the appointment site. So technically my house is my office, and the gym is the appointment site. That makes for 32 miles round trip, almost exactly. (according to google maps) But my dad said he thought I'm only able to write off federal income tax. I was under the presumption I would be able to write off at least state and federal. Wasn't sure about social security (which is 15% for me -- fuck you old people).

So my question is for anyone that has experience with this -- since google was unhelpful, can I write off my personal expenses for my job for state, federal and social security taxes?

Member Awards ()

#2 Haflinger

Haflinger

Flipper

• Foreign Diplomat
  • 10259 posts
  • Ruler Name:Haflinger
  • Nation Name:Llonach
  • IRC Nick:Haflinger
  • Nation Link

Posted 02 June 2014 - 12:45 PM

You're American, right?

Employ a tax accountant. Even one of the tax chains will save you money.

With that said, you might want to think about incorporating if you're bringing in some good cash. The thing about incorporating is that corporations tend to pay less in taxes. However don't do it without legal advice, and if you're not making enough to pay a lawyer for tax advice, then you're not making enough to incorporate either.

Member Awards ()

#3 Thrash