• 16192 posts
  • Gender:Household pet that walked across the keyboard - male
  • Ruler Name:Jorost
  • Nation Name:Invicta Crownlands
  • IRC Nick:Jorost
  • Alliance Name:Invicta
  • Nation Link

Posted 01 November 2014 - 07:14 PM

Since we have this Politics subforum, I guess it's the appropriate place for this.

This week I received my official teacher certification, which means that not only am I a school nurse, I am a teacher. The subject I am certified to teach is "school nurse." It is a requirement to be a school nurse in the state of Massachusetts, and it is representative of the gray are in which school nurses find themselves. We don't really fit in.

But we do have a unique view of public education. Of course schools vary widely from region to region, so I do not assume that my experiences at an upper-middle-class suburban school on the tony North Shore of Massachusetts are necessarily reflective of schools across the nation. But a few themes emerge.

First of all, understand that in the United States public schools are governed by school committees, local officials elected from the community. More than any other democratic institution in this country, school committees truly represent the communities they serve. It's not a flashy job, not a high-paying one (in most places it's a part-time commitment with a stipend), not necessarily a desirable one from a professional politician's point of view. Which is not to say that a few professional pols don't get elected to school committees, because they most assuredly do. It's a great place for an eager young pol to start. But they don't stay there long. The ones who stay, and who do the job seriously, are not professionals. More often than not they are parents of current or former students in the school system they serve. They always live, and often work, in the community in question. They are, in short, just ordinary people. School committees are democracy in the purest sense of the word.